Help with Codamac conversion

Shout here if you need any help!
Maybe you need a plan - just shout
MickC

Help with Codamac conversion

Post by MickC »

Hi,
I'm new to Mode Zero. Just acquired a Macgregor Codamac transmitter and Phil Green's 2.4 emulator and coder conversion. Phil has been very helpful and I am on the case with the connections apart from the Codamac stick wiring, which Phil is not experienced with. The Codamac is not the proportional version, it sends two blips left and one right generated by two sets of wipers brushing a disk attached to the stick. [Phil: not so -see 6 posts down]

I have struggled with this and cannot work out the connections. Does anyone have experience with this and advise how to connect Phil's emulator to to this? It has a three wire servo type lead but there are just too many variables to guess.

Can anyone hep?

Many thanks,
Cheers,
Mick Cayton.
tiptipflyer

Re: Help with Codamac conversion

Post by tiptipflyer »

Hi Mick,
the Codamac Tx is very hard to convert as it is. It is almost impossible to use the original stick. I did a conversion some time ago, but I added two microswitches to the stick unit which makes the Codamac a three channel reeds transmitter instead of a coded S/C unit. It now works realy well.
You can find it here: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=105
I am using an Attiny 84 on a custom made PCB and a 35MHz module on mine.
If you like a nice S/C unit, you better watch out for another transmitter to convert.
Maybe someone else will have a good idea.
Good luck
Frank
MickC

Post by MickC »

Hello Frank,

Thanks for your quick response. I have looked at your reed conversions and they are interesting but not quite where I want to be heading right now. I can't help but wonder why Macgregor made the two pulse left and one for right switch so complicated; microswitches would probably have worked better to start with...