Went Flying Today

Anything you like!
Carl

Went Flying Today

Post by Carl »

On the old forum there was a thread for when any of us went flying. Being a newbie I never got to add anything, but today being a lovely calm day down here in the South West corner that I took my Pageboy out for a flight. I had tried before (this was late last year) in an area opposite where I live, but felt I needed to learn flying where there was more space. This I did today :D and so thought I'd restart a thread for when any go flying.

I class this as my first bit of proper flying and enjoyed every moment. The Pageboy was a delight to fly - steady and slow. The small rudder movement was just right for gentle turns. I applied a suggestion I remember from Martin to imagine turns in the shape of a 50 pence coin and it worked just as he described. :D I used a propo set but simply dabbed left or right as if I was button pushing. So it's time for me to get one of my acquired s/c sets converted and progress onto button control.

For landing I eased of the power and it would gradually come down again. Is there any control tips to make landings a little more gentle? The Pageboy being so little and light it's not a problem, but I will want to progress onto a few larger rudder only models I've built and feel it a good idea practice better landing technique with the Pageboy before then.

The only disappointment about today was that my little video camera that I mount on my cap locked up during recording and none of the buttons worked. I had to take out the battery and reinsert it, but the file created is invalid. I guess the file wasn't closed properly and is unreadable now. Never happened before. Never mind.

Carl
Carl

------------------------------------
STILL LEARNING
Carl

Re: Went Flying Today

Post by Carl »