How slow do you build?

Anything you like!
Martin

How slow do you build?

Post by Martin »

I know some people, Shaun and Tobe for example, can build a model in a day or less, but how long do you take?

I'm a very slow builder. It takes me all day just to cover a model like the Pulstar using heat shrink film. Actually it takes about a day for me to cover any normal model - the small ones seem to take me just as long as the big ones. And the finish isn't wonderful. Compared to the photos of other people's models on here, mine have a very rough appearance and much simpler finishing trim - often just one colour for the whole model, or maybe just a different colour for the wing and tail.

And then it takes me maybe another half a day to install the motor, radio, linkages and wiring - for a complicated model with lots of control surfaces it would take me longer.

If I could complete a model like the Pulstar in a week or less, devoting most of my free time to the task, I would feel that I was doing very well. It usually takes me much longer than that.

Maybe if there are other slow builders like me, and we confess that in this thread, it will stop any newbie builders from feeling inadequate when they take a fortnight to build something and then read how the fast builders have made and test-flown the same model during a single lunch break. :lol:
Mosfets

Re: How slow do you build?

Post by Mosfets »

I would like to say it was the waiting for the glue to set that makes my builds long. I would like to say that but but I use superglue so cannot use that as an excuse.

I am now into the third week of building a Pageboy, it is almost finished but not as quick a build as I thought it would be.