Need help moving a channel on the 7ch encoder w/ S/C

Arduino projects on the go
Post Reply
jmendoza
Posts: 75
Joined: 18 Feb 2018, 23:07

Need help moving a channel on the 7ch encoder w/ S/C

Post by jmendoza » 10 Apr 2019, 17:58

Hi,
as most of you may know, Spektrum channel order is TAER, then Gear, followed by Aux channels.

This means that with a 6 channel receiver, you cannot get the gear function.

Is it possible to re-assign the gear switch from channel 7 to channel 5?
If so how would this be done in the sketch?

I assume that then the displaced Aux channel 5 would now become channel 7 and require some changes to the sketch as well.

Thanks,

Jay

User avatar
Shaun
Posts: 435
Joined: 15 Feb 2018, 21:49
Location: West Yorkshire

Re: Need help moving a channel on the 7ch encoder w/ S/C

Post by Shaun » 10 Apr 2019, 18:52

Jay,

Gear channel is channel 5 and aux 1, channel 6 on any spectrum Rx / tx set up as standard.

You don't need a 7 channel Rx.

Cheers,

Shaun.

User avatar
Phil_G
Posts: 267
Joined: 15 Feb 2018, 23:32
Contact:

Re: Need help moving a channel on the 7ch encoder w/ S/C

Post by Phil_G » 10 Apr 2019, 21:44

Not tried it but this should do it Jay.
Remember the channel array starts at zero so channel[0] in the array is throttle (rx ch1),
channel[1] in the array is aileron (rx ch2), channel[2] in the array is elevator (rx ch3) etc etc
so channel[4] in the array is rx channel 5 (gear, ie the 'slow' toggle) and then channel[5] and
channel[6] in the array are the two 'aux' channels on rx ch6 & ch7.
jay_swap_ch5ch7.jpg

I think it might be a good idea to make this a permanent change for JR/Spektrum channel order,
so it would be Throttle, Aileron, Elevator, Rudder, the 'slow' toggle switch, aux1 then aux2.
Futaba channel order stays as is. Does that sound sensible (I'm not a Spekky user) ???

Cheers
Phil

jmendoza
Posts: 75
Joined: 18 Feb 2018, 23:07

Re: Need help moving a channel on the 7ch encoder w/ S/C

Post by jmendoza » 12 Apr 2019, 03:45

Thanks Phil,
I like your idea for Spektrum, as most of us here in California and around the USA use it alot.

I assume I must cut and paste the yellow highlighted text in the sketch you posted above into your existing sketch, correct?

I am using the Orange RX DSM2/X auto module for Futaba.

Jay

jmendoza
Posts: 75
Joined: 18 Feb 2018, 23:07

Re: Need help moving a channel on the 7ch encoder w/ S/C

Post by jmendoza » 11 May 2019, 18:43

Hi Phil,
I was wondering if you were going to incorporate the Spektrum channel order into the 7 channel sketch.
I tried to insert it into the existing 7 channel sketch but must of done something wrong because it will not upload properly.

If you do make the changes, could you post it in the sketches part of the forum so I can try it out?

Thanks,

Jay

User avatar
Phil_G
Posts: 267
Joined: 15 Feb 2018, 23:32
Contact:

Re: Need help moving a channel on the 7ch encoder w/ S/C

Post by Phil_G » 24 Jun 2019, 11:37

Did you get this sorted out Jay?
As time permits I'm tidying up the 7ch+sc encoder, mostly for my own satisfaction - amongst other things it will include these aux channel mappings, but I've had a lot on lately so its likely to be a little while yet.
Cheers
Phil

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests