RCS Guidance System and MacGregor MR 200 Transmitter look-alikes

Button pushers
RogerMacey

RCS Guidance System and MacGregor MR 200 Transmitter look-alikes

Post by RogerMacey »

Hi everyone. I’m new to Mode Zero, so many thanks for letting me join your group. I’ve been aeromodelling for over 60 years on and off, so have many happy memories of days gone by. A short while ago I came across Phil and Shaun’s wonderful Single Channel site, and this rekindled my interest in the “good old days”.

I thought one or two of you may be interested in two “look-alike” Single Channel 2.4GHz transmitters that I have put together - an RCS and a MacGregor - so here’s a little bit about them.

1. RCS Guidance System Transmitter “look-alike”.
IMG_20210103_140025.jpg
IMG_20210103_135629.jpg
The electronics consist of a PPM Encoder Board and Microswitch Pushbutton / Wiring Harness all kindly supplied by Phil Green, a FrSky V8HT 2.4GHz RF Module and Antenna which I sourced from Ebay, and a 9.6V 1200mAH AA NiMh Battery Pack, plus On-Off switch and Charging Socket. The PPM Encoder Board is mounted so that the Configuration / Tell-Tale LEDs are right next to the Microswitch (as recommended by Phil), and the FrSky Bind Board is mounted in the upper left hand side of the case, with the Bind Switch and LED accessible from outside.

The case is a commercial die-cast aluminium Hammond 1590J enclosure approx. 5 ½” x 3 ½” x 1 ½” (which is quite close in size to the original pressed steel case) which I sprayed with Grey Hammer Finish paint.

The RCS Badge was created originally in 2D (*.SVG format) using Microsoft Excel Insert Shapes, and working from whatever old pictures I could find, then converted online into 3D (*.STL format) using Selva3D, and finally printed on my “toy” Da Vinci Mini 3D Printer, followed by a little sanding here and there. I know it’s not 100% true to the original badge, but looks OK from a distance !