The Ghost-Ender

Waggly tails
Tobe

The Ghost-Ender

Post by Tobe »

Tobe has had a little too much time to spare, after my youngest son told me a 2 hours lunch is not considered holiday or vacation I have taken a few days off under X-mas!
As my neighbor kids, 10 & 12 have showed interest in models and they have come to the shop from time to time since no when and already when my late father was still active, but now as they are coming to age for model airplanes, it's time to introduce them to the real world, so we have started a little project together...

Some of you but not all might know that I'm behind a few designs concerning models so can't say I'm a beginner but this project offers interesting challenges.

What I have done is to design a sturdy model, extremely simple so they can basically build it with a little guidance, easy said but not that easy in real life.
The basic concept is based on the use of Aliphatic glue, 2 mm balsa sheets, a bunch of pins. The idea is that when one section is drying to work on some other parts/detail to always stay busy and not get bored.
The reason I choose 2 mm for this model is that it's not sensitive or delicate but still easy to cut and can be sanded w/o any major risk to thin it out too much.

You will see in the design that it will never be a floater but probably survive almost any uncontrolled contact with mother earth.

Size wise the wing span will be 80 cm and a CD-rom motor of some kind will do. If I get the time I will have them to wind their own motors! I was considering also 2 Cox BabyBee .049 with spring start but that would require some more considerations on the finish as at now almost anything would do like a can of hairspray.

Now to the question of radio... :lol: :D :roll: :-)