Variations on Ron's Tx Meter and Phil_G's PPM tester.

Any old or new electronic projects on the go
Adrian_H

Variations on Ron's Tx Meter and Phil_G's PPM tester.

Post by Adrian_H »

Whilst doing the conversions on my 'gifted' Skyleader and Simprop sets I came across several useful projects here that I thought I'd have a go at.

I am a complete novice with Arduino; I last did any programming >35years ago with F77 and Plot10 with a forest of documentation from the likes of DEC, MSC/Nastran, SunOS, IBM. So with a little knowledge being dangerous and the vast resource of The Internet, I duly ordered the parts. The projects have been around a while, many have been built - what could be difficult?

So armed with IDE 2 - an IDE? there's a novelty; I thought a colour screen on 9600baud was a luxury coming from punched cards at Uni! - and a USBasp I set to.

First up was 2.4GHz Spectrum analyser - worked like a dream.

Next was a Tx meter. I only gave a passing thought as to why there might be a gold sticker on the USB port of the '328p nano compatible' board I was connecting up. Loaded the library needed, loaded the sketch - Error. Umm...as the IBM manuals say 'probable user error, correct problem and re-run job' - must be me. Try Martins PPM tester - Error. Must be me. This set off a train of events which were probably unnecessary but resulted in updates for the Tx meter and the PPM/PWM tester.

Probably you've been there, but for amusement, posterity (so I don't forget), any other novices who stumble here and in case its useful...
The root cause was the boards supplied actually had 328pb chips - nothing was identifiable to the naked eye, but under the right light with a big magnifying glass some faint markings on the chip were just discernible.