Tobe's sticks...

Shout here if you need any help!
Maybe you need a plan - just shout
Pchristy

Tobe's sticks...

Post by Pchristy »

I'm sure I recall Tobe uploading the files for his 3D printed stick units, but I can't find the post again!

I have a couple of transmitters with Dunham stick units. These use cermet (or plastic film) pot tracks - like old servos used, once upon a time. These seem to be no longer available, and some of mine are showing signs of age. I have a basic 3D printer, and was wondering about printing an adapter to use Tobe's stick pots with Dunham sticks. IIRC, Tobe used pots with less than the standard 270 degree throw, which should improve resolution and linearity.

It ought to be relatively straightforward, but I'm new to 3D printing and need a sample to study!

Can someone point me to the files? I know they are here somewhere...

--
Pete
Shaun

Re: Tobe's sticks...

Post by Shaun »

Pete,

I may have some new/old stock cermet pot tracks. If I can find them how many would you need?
Tobe's stick's are excellent however if you go that route.

Cheers,

Shaun.
Wayne_H

Post by Wayne_H »

Pete,

Single axis stick details & files here
viewtopic.php?f=42&t=957&start=10
Cheers,

Wayne
Once a Retrobate, always a Retrobate............ ;)
Pchristy

Post by Pchristy »

Hi Shaun,

Thanks for the offer! I do have a few cermets, but I suspect they are Log, not Lin - at least, they ain't very linear! There are probably better - more modern - options if I can make them fit.

Wayne: Yes, that's what I was looking for! Searched high and low for it and couldn't find it - many thanks!

The last versions of the Dunham sticks did have options for using proper pots, instead of just cermet tracks, but I never got hold of any of those. It should be possible to print something up that will do the job, but I need to see how Tobe has done it, and then try and adapt that to my existing units!

Might take a while, but worth doing, I think! :)

Thanks, all!

--
Pete
Tobe